SermorelinReport

Sermorelin vs tesamorelin: what the evidence supports

Sermorelin and tesamorelin both act through the growth hormone pathway, but they are different drugs. Tesamorelin has an FDA-approved use for excess abdominal fat in adults with HIV-associated lipodystrophy. That does not make it an approved general weight-loss treatment, and it does not establish that compounded sermorelin produces the same results.

The differences that change the decision

Comparisons often begin with which peptide is stronger. That skips the question that matters: stronger evidence for which result, in which patient group? A reduction in a specific fat compartment in adults with HIV cannot simply become a promise about weight loss, muscle gain or recovery in an otherwise healthy adult.

The useful comparison has three parts: what the medicine is, what evidence supports the proposed use, and what product the pharmacy will actually dispense. A familiar name on an order page does not answer all three.[1][2][3]

The differences that change the decision

Scroll the table sideways for the remaining columns.

QuestionSermorelinTesamorelin
Approved product historyGeref had historical diagnostic and pediatric uses; current compounded products are not FDA-approved.EGRIFTA has an approved HIV-associated lipodystrophy indication.
What is being compared?A specific compounded formulation and prescription.An identified approved formulation, or a separately described compounded product.
General weight-loss claimNot established by the historical Geref approvals.EGRIFTA WR is not indicated for weight-loss management.

Evidence summarized from the linked sources in this section; this is not a head-to-head treatment trial.

Why a study population is part of the result

A clinical trial is not just a drug name followed by a percentage. Its participants, comparison group, duration and measured outcome determine what the result can support. Before treating a tesamorelin study as a reason to buy sermorelin, check whether sermorelin was actually studied. Before treating a fat-measurement result as pounds lost, check what was measured.

The historical sermorelin literature summarized by Prakash and Goa concerns diagnosis and treatment of childhood growth hormone deficiency. It helps explain why the drug entered clinical use. It does not answer whether an adult buying a longevity subscription will sleep better or lose body fat.

For a reader, the practical test is simple: ask the seller for the study supporting the benefit being advertised, then match the medicine and the participants to the proposed treatment. A study of another growth hormone-releasing hormone analog can be relevant background without being direct evidence.[4]

The formulation is not a small detail

The EGRIFTA WR label specifically distinguishes WR from EGRIFTA SV: their strengths, preparation and storage differ, and the products are not substitutable. A website that uses one generic tesamorelin instruction for every vial has lost an important product distinction.

Do not borrow mixing or dosing instructions from a comparison article. Obtain instructions for the exact product dispensed. If an offer is compounded, ask what is in the vial, who prepares it and what prescription-specific instructions come with it. Neither a similar molecule name nor a similarly sized vial is a conversion rule.

The same discipline applies to a claim that a formulation is more convenient. The relevant questions are how often supplies are delivered, who explains preparation, how replacement shipments work, and whether the pharmacy can answer a storage question about that exact prescription.[3]

Compare the full bill, not a vial price

A credible price comparison needs the medicine, quantity, supply period and included services. One figure may cover the drug alone while another includes consultations or monitoring. An advertised starting price may not be the ongoing price. A prepaid total may look cheaper when divided into months even though the full amount is charged at once.

We do not publish a universal tesamorelin-to-sermorelin savings percentage because that would require comparable, current quotes for the same treatment period. For your own comparison, request a written first-payment total and a written ongoing total. Keep promotional discounts separate.

  • Is the quoted medicine branded or compounded, and what is the exact formulation?
  • What period and quantity does the quote cover?
  • Are consultation, laboratory work, supplies and shipping included?
  • Can the price change after the clinician chooses a prescription?
  • What happens financially if treatment is declined or stopped?

The TrueMe review and CoreAge Rx review illustrate a recurring rate versus a starting price. Neither is a matched tesamorelin quote, so the advertised amounts cannot establish a saving between the medicines.

How to use this comparison at a consultation

Tell the clinician which outcome you want to address rather than requesting whichever peptide looks strongest online. Ask what diagnosis or clinical finding supports treatment, what improvement would be meaningful, and how the plan will be reassessed if it does not help.

An evidence-supported use in one population is not a guarantee for another. Equally, a lower price does not resolve uncertainty about benefit. The decision needs both the clinical rationale and the financial commitment in view.

For an offer already in hand, keep a copy of the product name, pharmacy details, included services and cancellation terms. Those are the facts you can compare before paying; a promise of better results without a directly relevant study is not a substitute for them.

4 of 99 sermorelin sellers, showing different ways treatment is priced. Each review lists its source date.

Partner links can earn us a commission. How we’re funded.

Narrow this board

Showing all 4 sellers.

  • EmbodyPartner

    $99 per month

    a recurring rate

    70/100 disclosure score

    sermorelin injections; dose and vial size not stated

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • System LabsPartner

    $89 first month

    an introductory offer

    65/100 disclosure score

    page labels the supply as quarterly, 9 mg

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • CoreAge RxPartner

    $99 per month

    a starting price

    45/100 disclosure score

    dose not stated

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • Lavender Sky Health

    $199 per 15 mg supply

    a prepaid total

    75/100 disclosure score

    Red Rock Pharmacy injectable sermorelin, 15 mg; consultation extra

    • injection
    • combination capsule
    • Names its pharmacy
    • Sermorelin page

Sellers that pay us a commission come first in their group, identified by a Partner badge. That position is the only thing paying us buys. Below it, each group is ordered by what each seller states about its own figure: the kind of price first, then the figure itself. The price, the dose, the score and the review read the same either way. Compare the complete directory on compare sermorelin sellers. 1 of these 4 sellers names the pharmacy that compounds its sermorelin — Lavender Sky Health (Red Rock Pharmacy (15 mg injectable option)). A pharmacy named on a seller’s GLP-1 pages does not count: it says nothing about who makes this drug.

Read next