SermorelinReport

Is sermorelin FDA-approved? Geref and today’s products

Geref, a branded sermorelin medicine, had FDA approvals for diagnostic use and for a pediatric growth disorder. Those approvals were withdrawn in 2009 after the products were discontinued. A compounded sermorelin product sold today does not inherit Geref’s approval; compounded drugs are not FDA-approved.

The dates behind apparently conflicting answers

One website may say sermorelin was approved and another may say the product is not approved. Both statements can refer to different things. The first can describe a historical branded medicine; the second can describe a compounded preparation available now. An answer that leaves out the product and date makes this unnecessarily confusing.[1]

The dates behind apparently conflicting answers
DateWhat the FDA record describes
December 1990Initial approval of Geref for diagnostic evaluation of growth hormone release.
September 1997Initial approval of Geref for idiopathic growth hormone deficiency in children with growth failure.
2008The manufacturer notified FDA that the products were being discontinued.
June 2009Withdrawal of the approvals became effective.
March 2013FDA published its determination that withdrawal from sale was not for safety or effectiveness reasons.

Evidence summarized from the linked sources in this section; this is not a head-to-head treatment trial.

What the 2013 determination does and does not say

The determination addresses why those Geref products left the market. It matters because withdrawal from sale can be misunderstood as evidence that a medicine was found unsafe. The FDA reached a narrower conclusion about the historical products.

That is different from reviewing a new compounded formulation or approving a new indication. The notice does not supply clinical results for a current telehealth program, endorse a pharmacy, or establish that sermorelin treats the adult outcomes in a seller’s advertisement.

A good product explanation preserves both parts: the historical withdrawal was not attributed to safety or effectiveness, and today’s compounded offer still needs its own accurate description. Neither fact cancels the other.[1]

An ingredient is not the same as an approved finished product

The FDA explains that compounded drugs do not undergo the agency’s premarket approval review for safety, effectiveness and quality. That distinction applies to the finished preparation, not merely to whether its ingredient name has appeared in a previously approved medicine.

Terms such as prescription-only, pharmacy-prepared and FDA-approved answer different questions. A prescription identifies a clinical order. Pharmacy information identifies who prepares or dispenses the medicine. FDA approval concerns a specific product and its reviewed conditions of use. Do not let one phrase stand in for all three.

For the same reason, a facility’s license or registration should not be read as an FDA approval of every product it supplies. Ask for the exact product and dispensing source rather than relying on a logo or a general quality statement.[2]

Why adult marketing claims need their own evidence

The historical pediatric use involved children with a defined growth disorder. It does not establish that an adult without that diagnosis will gain muscle, lose weight or feel younger. A seller should be able to separate the approval history from evidence for the outcome it is advertising.

Likewise, a mechanism explaining growth hormone release is not a measurement of sleep quality or strength. A paper can show a laboratory response without answering whether a patient experienced a worthwhile improvement. The outcome and the population need to travel with the citation.

Our benefit-claims research examines what sellers promise and what their pages cite. That is a different task from proving the promises. Use it to identify questions for a clinician, rather than treating the frequency of a marketing claim as evidence that it works.

Questions that clarify an offer

Before you compare prices, obtain a plain-language answer to what you will receive. A clear seller should be able to distinguish its administrative service, the prescribing clinician and the pharmacy. That division matters if you later need a prescription clarification or a refund.

  • Is this a compounded preparation or a named approved finished product?
  • Which pharmacy will dispense this prescription?
  • What does the advertised price include and what is charged separately?
  • Which evidence supports the proposed use for someone with my history?
  • Who answers formulation, storage or adverse-effect questions?
  • If the prescription is declined, what part of the payment is refundable?

A starting price and a quote-only offer leave different questions unanswered. Our CoreAge Rx review and Oak review explain those questions. Neither a price nor an enrollment process establishes FDA approval of the product dispensed.

How to describe the status accurately

A precise description is that sermorelin has a history of FDA-approved Geref products, while current compounded preparations are not FDA-approved. It avoids both erasing the historical record and overstating what that record means today.

Approval status alone is not an individualized treatment decision. It is one part of an informed discussion that also includes clinical need, evidence, preparation quality, monitoring and cost. If a seller cites an approval, ask it to identify the actual product and indication rather than accepting the ingredient name as the entire answer.

4 of 99 sermorelin sellers, showing different ways treatment is priced. Each review lists its source date.

Partner links can earn us a commission. How we’re funded.

Narrow this board

Showing all 4 sellers.

  • EmbodyPartner

    $99 per month

    a recurring rate

    70/100 disclosure score

    sermorelin injections; dose and vial size not stated

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • System LabsPartner

    $89 first month

    an introductory offer

    65/100 disclosure score

    page labels the supply as quarterly, 9 mg

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • CoreAge RxPartner

    $99 per month

    a starting price

    45/100 disclosure score

    dose not stated

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • Lavender Sky Health

    $199 per 15 mg supply

    a prepaid total

    75/100 disclosure score

    Red Rock Pharmacy injectable sermorelin, 15 mg; consultation extra

    • injection
    • combination capsule
    • Names its pharmacy
    • Sermorelin page

Sellers that pay us a commission come first in their group, identified by a Partner badge. That position is the only thing paying us buys. Below it, each group is ordered by what each seller states about its own figure: the kind of price first, then the figure itself. The price, the dose, the score and the review read the same either way. Compare the complete directory on compare sermorelin sellers. 1 of these 4 sellers names the pharmacy that compounds its sermorelin — Lavender Sky Health (Red Rock Pharmacy (15 mg injectable option)). A pharmacy named on a seller’s GLP-1 pages does not count: it says nothing about who makes this drug.

Read next