SermorelinReport

What is sermorelin?

Sermorelin is a synthetic, 29-amino-acid analog of growth hormone–releasing hormone. It stimulates the pituitary gland to release growth hormone.[1] The FDA approved it in 1990 as Geref, the maker stopped selling it in 2008, and the approvals were withdrawn in 2009, so what telehealth sellers dispense today is compounded by a pharmacy, not an approved drug.[3]

That history is why a sermorelin price is harder to read than it looks. Of the 89 sellers on this roster, 35 publish a standing monthly rate, 15 say how much drug the price buys, and 1 names the pharmacy that makes it.

What the molecule is and what it does

Sermorelin is a peptide, a short chain of amino acids, and it copies a hormone rather than replacing one. A 1999 review of the drug opens with that definition:

“Sermorelin, a 29 amino acid analogue of human growth hormone-releasing hormone (GHRH), is the shortest synthetic peptide with full biological activity of GHRH.”
Prakash and Goa, BioDrugs, 1999, read September 2026

It works one step before growth hormone. The same review [1] puts it plainly: “Intravenous and subcutaneous sermorelin specifically stimulate growth hormone secretion from the anterior pituitary.” So a sermorelin dose is a request to your pituitary, and what comes back depends on the pituitary answering it. The trial literature mostly calls it by its chemical name, GHRH(1-29)NH2, and PubMed files those studies under sermorelin.

That literature is old. PubMed tags 19 of the records it files under sermorelin as randomized controlled trials, published between 1986 and 2005.[2] Of those, 5 test a modified version of the molecule or a drug that blocks its receptor, and the newest, from 2005, is one of those. The other 14, which give sermorelin itself, are short studies of how much growth hormone it releases, plus 2 growth trials in children that ran six months. None of those 14 measures sleep, recovery or body composition, which is most of what these sellers say sermorelin does, so the timelines sellers print for results rest on something other than a sermorelin trial.

The approval, and how it ended

The FDA approved sermorelin twice, both times as Geref, under applications held by EMD Serono. Neither approval survives. The dates below come from the agency’s own notices.[3][4]

December 28, 1990
Approved as NDA 19-863: a 0.05 mg ampule for testing whether the pituitary can release growth hormone.
September 26, 1997
Approved as NDA 20-443: 0.5 mg and 1.0 mg vials, to treat idiopathic growth hormone deficiency in children with growth failure.
July and December 2008
EMD Serono tells the FDA both products are being discontinued.
June 18, 2009
The withdrawal of both approvals takes effect, at the maker’s request.
March 4, 2013
The FDA publishes its finding that neither product was pulled for safety or effectiveness.

Two things in that record matter to a buyer. The only treatment Geref was ever approved for was, in the notice’s words, “the treatment of idiopathic growth hormone deficiency (GHD) in children with growth failure”. No adult treatment was approved, then or since. And the 2013 finding is the step that lets the FDA approve a generic copy: “This determination will allow FDA to approve abbreviated new drug applications (ANDAs)”. None has been. Drugs@FDA lists two sermorelin applications, both Geref, both marked discontinued.[5] There is no FDA-approved sermorelin product marketed in the United States.

What sellers dispense instead

A compounded preparation: sermorelin mixed by a pharmacy against a prescription, with no approved label behind it. The FDA says what that means in two sentences:

“Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved. This means that FDA does not verify the safety, effectiveness or quality of compounded drugs before they are marketed.”
FDA, Compounding and the FDA: Questions and Answers, read September 2026

On 36 of the 88 sermorelin pages we hold, the seller says so itself, though on a page selling five drugs the sentence may be about one of the others. A compounding pharmacy comes up, in general terms, on 48. Only 1 of the 89 sellers on this roster names the pharmacy that makes its sermorelin, and who makes compounded sermorelin takes up the rest.

The phrase “FDA-approved” still turns up: 11 pages print it and carry no not-FDA-approved sentence anywhere. Two of those use it accurately, to say Geref was discontinued. One prints “FDA-Approved Compounds” as a badge, which describes nothing the agency does.

What that means for the price you’re quoted

For a compounded prescription, confirm the formulation, concentration and instructions with the clinician and dispensing pharmacy. A seller’s public page may not contain those patient-specific details, so the comparison below records disclosure rather than quality of care.

A standing monthly rate
35 of 89, from $116 to $300 a month
No figure we could qualify
31 of 89
How much drug the price buys
15 of 89, 5 of them as an amount per dose
Sell it as an injection
72 of 89; 14 offer another form
The pharmacy that makes it
1 of 89

The dose is the gap that matters most. Only 5 of 88 pages print a microgram figure anywhere a reader can see it, so two monthly prices can buy different amounts of the drug and neither page will tell you. The standing monthly rates board lines up the 35 that can be compared, and what a sermorelin price includes takes apart what those figures cover.

A seller’s side-effect list is not a complete individual risk assessment. The descriptions on the pages we captured are their own description. Prakash and Goa’s review of the trials in children [1] reports: “Transient facial flushing and pain at injection site were the most commonly reported adverse events.”

Where these counts come from

The figures on this page describe the 88 readable sermorelin seller pages captured in September 2026. The archived provider inventory contained 89 companies, including one without a readable captured sermorelin page. Current provider reviews may contain newer evidence and additional companies; they do not change this historical sample.

We counted what a seller printed where a buyer can see it, in September 2026. A price or an answer behind an intake form or a closed FAQ is not counted, which is why a count of 88 is a count of what these pages publish rather than of what these companies would tell you if you asked.

Questions

Is sermorelin FDA-approved?

No product you can buy is. Geref was approved in 1990 and 1997, discontinued in 2008, and both approvals were withdrawn in 2009 at the maker’s request. Drugs@FDA lists no other sermorelin application. What sellers dispense now is compounded, and the FDA says compounded drugs are not FDA-approved.

Is sermorelin the same as growth hormone?

No. It’s a version of growth hormone–releasing hormone, the signal one step before growth hormone, and it works by prompting the pituitary to release growth hormone rather than supplying it.[1]

What was sermorelin approved for?

Two things, both narrow. A small ampule for testing whether the pituitary can release growth hormone, approved in 1990, and larger vials to treat idiopathic growth hormone deficiency in children with growth failure, approved in 1997. No adult treatment was ever approved.

Why was Geref discontinued?

The FDA’s 2013 notice records that EMD Serono told the agency in 2008 it was discontinuing both products, and that the FDA found they were not withdrawn for reasons of safety or effectiveness. It gives no commercial reason, and we won’t supply one.

Who makes compounded sermorelin  Sermorelin dosage  Does sermorelin need to be refrigerated?

4 of 99 sermorelin sellers, showing different ways treatment is priced. Each review lists its source date.

Partner links can earn us a commission. How we’re funded.

Narrow this board

Showing all 4 sellers.

  • EmbodyPartner

    $99 per month

    a recurring rate

    70/100 disclosure score

    sermorelin injections; dose and vial size not stated

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • System LabsPartner

    $89 first month

    an introductory offer

    65/100 disclosure score

    page labels the supply as quarterly, 9 mg

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • CoreAge RxPartner

    $99 per month

    a starting price

    45/100 disclosure score

    dose not stated

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • Lavender Sky Health

    $199 per 15 mg supply

    a prepaid total

    75/100 disclosure score

    Red Rock Pharmacy injectable sermorelin, 15 mg; consultation extra

    • injection
    • combination capsule
    • Names its pharmacy
    • Sermorelin page

Sellers that pay us a commission come first in their group, identified by a Partner badge. That position is the only thing paying us buys. Below it, each group is ordered by what each seller states about its own figure: the kind of price first, then the figure itself. The price, the dose, the score and the review read the same either way. Compare the complete directory on compare sermorelin sellers. 1 of these 4 sellers names the pharmacy that compounds its sermorelin — Lavender Sky Health (Red Rock Pharmacy (15 mg injectable option)). A pharmacy named on a seller’s GLP-1 pages does not count: it says nothing about who makes this drug.

Read next