SermorelinReport

Sermorelin half-life: plasma decline is not a treatment timetable

An archived Irish Geref 50 product document reports a plasma half-life of 6–7 minutes after intravenous administration. That historical route-specific value is not a verified clearance time for every current compounded injection, tablet or spray. Human research, animal measurements, hormone responses and drug-test detection must be kept separate.

Start with the source and the route

The frequently repeated phrase short half-life can hide important differences in what was measured. Was the source an official product document, a human infusion study, an animal experiment or a secondary summary? Was the measurement of the administered peptide, growth hormone or another downstream marker? Those details determine what the number can explain.

Our acetate guide separates ingredient identity from the finished prescription. Apply that distinction here: two products carrying the same ingredient name do not automatically share a verified absorption and decline profile. A historical intravenous measurement should not be presented as a personalized result for a subcutaneous compound or a non-injectable preparation supplied today.

What the archived product document actually says

The Irish Medicines Board’s Geref 50 summary of product characteristics, with text revised in May 2004 and printed in 2006, reports a plasma half-life of 6–7 minutes after intravenous administration. The document concerns a historical diagnostic injection. It separately describes a peak response around thirty minutes and a response lasting two to three hours.

This is not a current FDA label for every sermorelin preparation, nor a study verifying how long your prescription remains active. The document illustrates why decline of the administered peptide and the hormone response can have different time courses. Retain its product and route qualification rather than reducing the source to one apparently universal number.[1]

Human and animal findings should not be pooled

A 1994 study in ten men compared intravenous GHRH 1–29 with a D-Ala2-substituted analog. After infusion, the reported disappearance half-time was 4.3 ± 1.4 minutes for GHRH 1–29 and 6.7 ± 0.5 minutes for the modified analog. The numbers refer to the studied conditions and distinct molecules; the modified value should not be relabeled as unmodified sermorelin.

A different 1985 experiment reported an elimination-phase value of 10.4 minutes after intravenous administration in anesthetized rats. That is animal pharmacokinetics, not a measured human subcutaneous half-life. Differences across species, routes, assays and the phase being measured prevent a credible single average from being created by combining these values.[2][3]

Human and animal findings should not be pooled

Scroll the table sideways for the remaining columns.

SourceMeasurementEssential qualification
Archived Geref 50 SmPC6–7 minute plasma half-lifeHistorical intravenous diagnostic product
1994 study in ten men4.3 ± 1.4 minute disappearance half-timeGHRH 1–29 after intravenous infusion
1985 rat study10.4 minute elimination-phase valueAnesthetized rats after intravenous administration, not a human clearance guarantee

Evidence summarized from the linked sources in this section; this is not a head-to-head treatment trial.

A half-life does not say how long a benefit or symptom lasts

A half-life describes a halving of the measured concentration under a specified model or phase. It does not mean every molecule, metabolite, biological response or unwanted effect has disappeared at that time. A signaling medicine can trigger responses with their own time courses, and a laboratory measurement is not the same endpoint as feeling better.

Our guide to whether sermorelin works distinguishes hormone responses from meaningful patient outcomes. Use that same separation when asking how long an effect lasts. A short plasma value cannot establish the duration of sleep improvement, strength change or a reaction, and it does not establish that a product is safer than a longer-acting medicine.

The number cannot choose an administration or washout plan

Do not turn a half-life into a schedule for taking, pausing, restarting or combining medicines. The prescriber and pharmacist need the actual product and clinical situation. If the reason for asking is a new symptom, a change in another prescription or an upcoming procedure, explain that reason rather than requesting a generic clearance calculation.

The same limit applies to alcohol and sports testing. Our alcohol guide does not establish a safe drinking interval, and our sports-testing guide explains why a prescription does not settle competition eligibility. A plasma decline estimate is not a promise about a laboratory test’s detection of a substance or its markers. This guide provides no detection-evasion timetable.

Do not confuse time in the body with time in the vial

Medication shelf life and a pharmacy’s beyond-use date concern the prepared product before use. They are not calculated from the peptide’s plasma half-life. Our refrigeration guide explains why handling instructions must match the dispensed formulation, while the reconstitution guide separates preparation information from a clinical dose decision.

For a particular shipment, ask the dispensing pharmacy about its label, storage and instructions. For a treatment question, ask the clinician what information would affect the recommendation. Keeping these tasks separate prevents a mathematically precise half-life estimate from becoming an unsupported answer about a different product, a storage problem or a person’s treatment plan.

4 of 99 sermorelin sellers, showing different ways treatment is priced. Each review lists its source date.

Partner links can earn us a commission. How we’re funded.

Narrow this board

Showing all 4 sellers.

  • EmbodyPartner

    $99 per month

    a recurring rate

    70/100 disclosure score

    sermorelin injections; dose and vial size not stated

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • System LabsPartner

    $89 first month

    an introductory offer

    65/100 disclosure score

    page labels the supply as quarterly, 9 mg

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • CoreAge RxPartner

    $99 per month

    a starting price

    45/100 disclosure score

    dose not stated

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • Lavender Sky Health

    $199 per 15 mg supply

    a prepaid total

    75/100 disclosure score

    Red Rock Pharmacy injectable sermorelin, 15 mg; consultation extra

    • injection
    • combination capsule
    • Names its pharmacy
    • Sermorelin page

Sellers that pay us a commission come first in their group, identified by a Partner badge. That position is the only thing paying us buys. Below it, each group is ordered by what each seller states about its own figure: the kind of price first, then the figure itself. The price, the dose, the score and the review read the same either way. Compare the complete directory on compare sermorelin sellers. 1 of these 4 sellers names the pharmacy that compounds its sermorelin — Lavender Sky Health (Red Rock Pharmacy (15 mg injectable option)). A pharmacy named on a seller’s GLP-1 pages does not count: it says nothing about who makes this drug.

Read next