SermorelinReport

Sermorelin acetate: what the name tells you about a prescription

Sermorelin acetate is a salt form of the synthetic GHRH 1–29 peptide. The word acetate identifies chemical form; it does not tell you whether a product is injectable, oral or nasal, what quantity is supplied, how it should be prepared, or whether the finished medicine is FDA-approved.

What acetate means in this name

PubChem lists sermorelin and a separate acetate record containing the peptide and acetic acid components. The peptide is a synthetic sequence corresponding to the first twenty-nine amino acids of growth hormone releasing hormone, with an amidated end. Acetate is part of the ingredient description; it is not a statement that the medicine supplies testosterone or growth hormone itself.

Our introduction to sermorelin explains the signaling pathway. For a shopper reading a prescription, the practical point is simpler: seeing sermorelin acetate on two websites does not establish that the products have the same formulation, strength, delivery method or instructions. The complete preparation has to be identified before those offers can be compared.[1]

The salt name is not a dosage form

An ingredient can appear in different finished preparations. An injection, an orally disintegrating tablet, a troche and a nasal spray involve different routes and product details. The ingredient name alone does not establish how much reaches the intended site or whether a study of one form supports another. A claim that two forms are equivalent needs evidence beyond a shared name.

Our oral-versus-injection guide separates those questions from convenience and price. When a provider offers several forms from one ordering page, ask which one is being prescribed and why. Do not assume a quote for the least expensive option describes every option in the menu. The pharmacist should be able to explain exactly what will be dispensed.

Read quantity and concentration as separate facts

A label may describe the total amount of drug in a container and an amount per milliliter. Those are different statements. The total vial content is not automatically the amount intended for one administration, and a liquid volume without its concentration cannot establish the medication quantity. A website that gives only a vial size has left an important comparison field unanswered.

FDA has documented errors caused by confusing strength per milliliter with the total amount in an injectable container. Its examples concern other medicines, not an estimate of sermorelin error rates. The general reading lesson is relevant: ask the dispensing pharmacist to reconcile the label, written directions and supplied measuring device. Do not use the largest number on the label as an instruction.[2]

Read quantity and concentration as separate facts

Scroll the table sideways for the remaining columns.

Label or sales termWhat it describesWhat it does not establish
Sermorelin acetateIngredient identity and salt formRoute or complete formulation
Total amount in a vialMedication in the entire containerThe prescribed amount to use
ConcentrationAmount of drug per stated liquid volumeHow often or how much to administer
Monthly priceA financial statement requiring a billing basisA standardized medication quantity

Evidence summarized from the linked sources in this section; this is not a head-to-head treatment trial.

Geref history belongs to a particular product

Geref was a historical branded sermorelin acetate medicine. FDA’s withdrawal determination does not mean the ingredient name now turns every compounded preparation into an approved generic. FDA distinguishes an approved generic drug from a compounded drug, and the history of the original brand should not be used to erase that difference.

Ask a seller making an approval claim to identify the exact product and indication it means. A pharmacy’s license, a facility registration and a drug approval also answer different questions. Our FDA-status guide provides the longer historical explanation. For the prescription in front of you, request a plain description of what is compounded and who will prepare it.[3][4]

Compare the actual package rather than the ingredient alone

Our MadeMed review illustrates why the rest of the description matters: its selected injectable plan publishes a vial quantity and a six-month billing commitment. Another offer using the same ingredient name may leave the quantity unspecified or quote only a starting charge. Those commercial differences can be real without establishing a difference in treatment outcomes.

Use a written comparison with separate fields for preparation, amount supplied, supply period, care, tests and amount due today. If a prescription changes, obtain a new quote rather than carrying an old monthly equivalent into the new decision. The quote-comparison tool can organize financial information, but it cannot decide whether two formulations are medically equivalent.

Resolve changes with the people dispensing and prescribing

If a refill arrives with a different concentration, dosage form or added ingredient, ask whether the change was intentional and obtain instructions for that exact prescription. Keep the old and new labels available for the pharmacist. An internet conversion based only on the word acetate is not enough to reconcile a changed product.

Before paying, establish how you contact the pharmacy and prescriber when a label is unclear. That access is part of a usable care service. Our provider comparison helps locate published offer details, while the individual reviews show what still needs confirmation. A polished product page is helpful only if the actual prescription and instructions are equally clear.

4 of 99 sermorelin sellers, showing different ways treatment is priced. Each review lists its source date.

Partner links can earn us a commission. How we’re funded.

Narrow this board

Showing all 4 sellers.

  • EmbodyPartner

    $99 per month

    a recurring rate

    70/100 disclosure score

    sermorelin injections; dose and vial size not stated

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • System LabsPartner

    $89 first month

    an introductory offer

    65/100 disclosure score

    page labels the supply as quarterly, 9 mg

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • CoreAge RxPartner

    $99 per month

    a starting price

    45/100 disclosure score

    dose not stated

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • Lavender Sky Health

    $199 per 15 mg supply

    a prepaid total

    75/100 disclosure score

    Red Rock Pharmacy injectable sermorelin, 15 mg; consultation extra

    • injection
    • combination capsule
    • Names its pharmacy
    • Sermorelin page

Sellers that pay us a commission come first in their group, identified by a Partner badge. That position is the only thing paying us buys. Below it, each group is ordered by what each seller states about its own figure: the kind of price first, then the figure itself. The price, the dose, the score and the review read the same either way. Compare the complete directory on compare sermorelin sellers. 1 of these 4 sellers names the pharmacy that compounds its sermorelin — Lavender Sky Health (Red Rock Pharmacy (15 mg injectable option)). A pharmacy named on a seller’s GLP-1 pages does not count: it says nothing about who makes this drug.

Read next