SermorelinReport

Sermorelin vs. MK-677: different compounds, different evidence

MK-677, or ibutamoren, is not oral sermorelin. It is a different growth hormone secretagogue with its own research and risks. The evidence summarized here does not provide a head-to-head trial establishing that one is a safer or more effective wellness treatment, and an oral route does not establish safety.

Why the comparison is often misleading

The comparison usually begins with convenience: injections on one side and an oral product on the other. That skips the more important distinction between the active compounds. A route of administration tells you how a product is taken; it does not tell you whether it has the same effect, evidence or regulatory status as another product.

If avoiding needles is your priority, compare the actual compounded forms in our oral sermorelin comparison. A tablet or troche still needs its own prescribing assessment; this comparison does not treat MK-677 as oral sermorelin.

Sermorelin is a growth hormone-releasing hormone analog. Ibutamoren acts as a ghrelin mimetic growth hormone secretagogue. Describing both as GH boosters compresses different mechanisms into a marketing category. It also encourages the mistaken idea that a dose or result can be transferred from one product to the other.

There is no conversion formula in the evidence reviewed here that would make a particular MK-677 amount equivalent to a sermorelin prescription. A comparison chart that supplies one without a validated clinical basis creates certainty the studies do not provide. This guide compares the evidence questions rather than recommending a switch.[1][2]

What the older-adult ibutamoren trial measured

The randomized trial by Nass and colleagues enrolled 65 healthy older adults. Ibutamoren increased GH and IGF-1 and increased fat-free mass, but did not improve strength or physical function. Fasting glucose increased and estimated insulin sensitivity decreased. The findings do not support treating a change on a body-composition report as proof of better performance.

Fat-free mass includes more than contractile muscle, and the study assessed outcomes separately. Consumers should do the same when reading a promotional summary. Ask whether an advertised claim refers to a hormone concentration, a scan measurement, a strength test or an activity that matters in ordinary life.

These results cannot establish what would happen with compounded sermorelin. They also cannot tell every individual what will happen with ibutamoren. The trial’s value is that it provides measured results and limitations, rather than a testimonial that combines several lifestyle changes and credits one product.[1]

A higher IGF-1 did not guarantee a clinical benefit

Another randomized MK-677 trial involved 563 people with mild to moderate Alzheimer disease. IGF-1 rose, but the treatment did not slow clinical progression on the reported measures. This was a different patient population and clinical question from muscle building or general wellness.

The reason to mention the trial is narrow: target engagement and patient benefit are different findings. It would be wrong to use the negative Alzheimer result to answer every possible question about MK-677, just as it would be wrong to use the rise in IGF-1 as proof that the treatment helped cognition.

When a seller presents a hormone graph as the main evidence, ask what clinical outcome was studied alongside it. If the intended use is different from the trial’s purpose, ask for evidence addressing that use. The number of linked studies matters less than whether they actually answer the question being sold.[3]

What FDA says about MK-677 products

In its consumer warning about an undeclared ingredient in a growth product, FDA identifies ibutamoren as not FDA approved and describes potential risks including fluid retention and changes in glucose metabolism. The warning concerns a specific product, but the agency’s statement about the ingredient is relevant when another seller calls MK-677 a harmless supplement.

A product can look professional, have a certificate posted online and still lack clinical evidence for the use being advertised. A laboratory report about an ingredient is not a trial demonstrating that taking it helps you. It also does not replace a lawful dispensing pathway or an individual medical assessment.

Do not assume that a compound sold without a prescription is automatically a gentler alternative to a prescription medicine. The absence of an intake appointment is a feature of the sales process, not a safety result. Identify the actual ingredient and its status before comparing monthly prices.[4]

A comparison that keeps the uncertainties visible

A useful comparison records what is known without filling blank cells with guesses. Ask which active ingredient is proposed, what research matches the intended use and what monitoring the clinician considers necessary. An evidence gap belongs in the comparison rather than being hidden behind a general benefits label.

Be particularly careful with before-and-after images presented beside the comparison. Without a clear account of the product, other treatments, training changes and timing, they cannot establish which compound caused an apparent result. Images may help illustrate a person’s experience, but they cannot replace a controlled comparison of the treatments.

An exact-looking percentage on a sales chart deserves the same scrutiny. Ask what the denominator represents, how the outcome was measured and whether the comparison was randomized. If those details are absent, do not use the number to calculate your expected result. Precision in presentation is different from precision in the underlying evidence.

Price comparisons also need a common basis. A bottle of an online research product and a treatment program containing medical assessment are not the same purchase. Separating the compound, clinical care and dispensing information prevents a low sticker price from appearing to settle a medical decision.

If you compete in tested sport, check the anti-doping rules separately before considering either product. A clinician’s prescription and a seller’s assurance do not settle an athlete’s eligibility. Ask the responsible organization about the actual substance rather than relying on the category used in advertising.[5]

A comparison that keeps the uncertainties visible

Scroll the table sideways for the remaining columns.

Comparison pointSermorelinMK-677 / ibutamoren
IdentityGHRH analogGhrelin mimetic GH secretagogue
Equivalent doseNo validated conversion supplied hereNo validated conversion supplied here
Evidence interpretationMatch the exact formulation and intended useSeparate hormone and body-composition changes from function
Convenience claimInjection burden is one practical issueOral administration does not establish safety

Evidence summarized from the linked sources in this section; this is not a head-to-head treatment trial.

For the sermorelin side of a price comparison, our Longevixx review examines a starting-price listing, while our RegenCen review explains the information to request when no price is published. Neither provides a matched MK-677 quote or evidence that the treatments are interchangeable.

Questions to resolve before choosing any treatment

Which is better? The studies summarized here do not establish a winner for general wellness. The useful question is whether a treatment has credible evidence for the problem you want addressed and whether its expected benefit justifies its risks and burden in your circumstances.

Can the products be stacked? This review does not establish that combining them is effective or safe. A study of one compound cannot validate a combination. Bring the full list of products you are considering to a qualified clinician rather than treating separate sales pages as a combination protocol.

Is MK-677 a substitute for an approved treatment? Shared terminology about growth hormone does not establish substitutability. Ask for an explanation based on your diagnosis and the exact product, and do not replace prescribed treatment with an online research chemical on the basis of a comparison article.

4 of 99 sermorelin sellers, showing different ways treatment is priced. Each review lists its source date.

Partner links can earn us a commission. How we’re funded.

Narrow this board

Showing all 4 sellers.

  • EmbodyPartner

    $99 per month

    a recurring rate

    70/100 disclosure score

    sermorelin injections; dose and vial size not stated

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • System LabsPartner

    $89 first month

    an introductory offer

    65/100 disclosure score

    page labels the supply as quarterly, 9 mg

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • CoreAge RxPartner

    $99 per month

    a starting price

    45/100 disclosure score

    dose not stated

    • injection
    • General landing page
  • Lavender Sky Health

    $199 per 15 mg supply

    a prepaid total

    75/100 disclosure score

    Red Rock Pharmacy injectable sermorelin, 15 mg; consultation extra

    • injection
    • combination capsule
    • Names its pharmacy
    • Sermorelin page

Sellers that pay us a commission come first in their group, identified by a Partner badge. That position is the only thing paying us buys. Below it, each group is ordered by what each seller states about its own figure: the kind of price first, then the figure itself. The price, the dose, the score and the review read the same either way. Compare the complete directory on compare sermorelin sellers. 1 of these 4 sellers names the pharmacy that compounds its sermorelin — Lavender Sky Health (Red Rock Pharmacy (15 mg injectable option)). A pharmacy named on a seller’s GLP-1 pages does not count: it says nothing about who makes this drug.

Read next